Insider Gossip
  Monthly Hot Picks
  Book Reviews
  CD Reviews
  Concert Reviews
  DVD Reviews
  Game Reviews
  Movie Reviews
  'The Battle For The Soul of King Russ-ankhamun'
  Save Ferris [2016]
  Richard Hawley [2016]
  Moobs "The Canary" Dingus [2016]
  Racey [2016]
  Living In A Box [2016]
  Driver 67 (Paul Phillips) (2016)
  Jeff Scott Soto (2016)
  NEW! Midge Ure (2017)
  NEW! Rusty Egan (2017)
  NEW! Mahershala Ali ('Moonlight')
  NEW! Brad Pitt ('War Machine')
  NEW! Richard Gere ('Norman')
  NEW! the Judds
  NEW! Billy Ocean [2017]
  NEW! Glam Skanks [2017]
  Sony Legacy Black Friday Record Store Day 2017
  Cory Hardrict ('Destined')
  Mo McRae ('Destined')


Title - 'Floating Element'
Artist - Damo Suzuki's Network & Elysian Quartet

If you know nothing of this incredible artist, let alone the work known simply as 'Floating Element', trust me when I say you are in for a rare treat here on this brand new release from Purple Pyramid Records.

Kenji Suzuki, better known as Damo Suzuki, is a Japanese musician who has been living in Germany since the early 1970s and is best known as the former lead singer of the German krautrock group Can.

Suzuki was with Can from 1970 to 1973, recording a number of well-regarded albums such as Tago Mago, Future Days and Ege Bamyasi. Suzuki's first vocal performance with Can was "Don't Turn the Light On, Leave Me Alone" from Soundtracks. His freeform, often improvised lyrics, were sung in no particular language.

He returned to music in 1983, and currently leads what is known as Damo Suzuki's Network as he tours, he performs live improvisational music with various local musicians, so-called "Sound Carriers".

What we now have in front of us is a formidable workshop of musical wonderment from the innovative vocalist. An incredible live album recorded in the Purcell Room at Queen Elizabeth Hall, London on April 2nd, 2007, Floating Element is an amazing 76:55 performance combining Damo's inimitable, improvisational vocalizations with a modern classical string quartet to create music that defies categorization; as always.

Containing all four seasons of his truly stunning work of musical art, Floating Element features Suzuki on Vocals along with the Elysian Quartet - Jennymay Logan (Violin), Laura Moody (Cello, Vocal), the late Vince Sipprell (Viola), and Emma Smith (Violin) - together with Special Guests Adem (Harmonium, Percussion) and John-Paul Gandy on Piano.

Also released on my favorite kind of musical medium, as a Limited Edition double vinyl LP pressing, once listened to Floating Element may well have you pondering just what exactly you should file it under. Well, let me put your minds at rest and tell you that this very special release should be best filed under ... Non-Category music.